Jealous

He is jealous for me…

 

Several days ago there was mass devastation across the nation of Haiti when an immense earthquake rating 7.0 on the Richter Scale broke loose. Shaking the dirt and flattening the capital, the casualties are somewhere around 100,000 and counting.

 

Loves like a hurricane, I am a tree,
Bending beneath the weight of his wind and mercy.

 

It is comforting that He knows. He is never surprised. He orchestrates or allows all things in order that He might be glorified.

 

When all of a sudden, I am unaware of these afflictions eclipsed by glory,
And I realize just how beautiful You are,
And how great Your affections are for me.

 

Why not here? Why Haiti? Why was my home spared? My family & friends? My life? It is not because He loves me more or less. Faith brings me to say, “it just is.”

Grace. His affections are so great. His grace is so good. In Haiti and in my own life I could not cheapen His grace,  mercy and affections that I cannot comprehend and say anything less than “You alone are Good.”

 

And my heart turns violently inside of my chest,
I don’t have time to maintain these regrets,
When I think about, the way…

 

     Listening to David Crowder Band’s song “How He Loves” and looking at pictures of people, both random and who I know doing normal things and living life – rattles me. Thoughts of God expand in my head and I think my heart could pop and my chest burst.  It doesn’t matter what thought we give to Him and what we are doing He LOVES us – perfectly. He is the Perfect Father.

     I know the earthquake was not unexpected and did not throw God for a loop. That among other things that bring death and life and sorrow, heartache, joy, pleasure and laughter – He is aware of it all.

     I wonder how He sees death.

    Picture this: as a child being stung several times by wasps or having your finger slammed in a door. It hurts. It hurts so very badly. And you cry and cry and cry. And you are bruised longer than the initial point of pain. And your mom or dad just hold you. They have deep compassion on you, possibly cry with you, but they just hold you. Their hearts are broken at the sight of what happened and they grieve for you. But they know that it will get better. But they also know there is pain much, much worse. yet they just hold you because it does indeed hurt.

I wonder if He sees it like that.

    When God sees death, unsurprised and planned, I wonder what He thinks. He does indeed see us in pain and in mourning and He does hold us, but He knows this world will not last forever. He knows it is but a bee sting since He has conquered it. He also knows all to very well the pain in it, the heartache, the bruises, the agony – He will not minimize all that death is and how badly it hurts. He wept at the death of Lazarus, He wept over Jerusalem because He knew of what was to come for them. He knows the pain that is unexplainable due to death. But even though so painful death to us to our friends and family, to nations at a time, although unfathomable and never to be minimized especially with human life, it is but a bee sting when compared to death without knowing Jesus Christ.

 

And oh, how He loves us so,
Oh how He loves us,
How He loves us all
Yeah, He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh! how He loves us,
Oh! how He loves.

 

“However, as it is written: ‘No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no mind has conceived what God has prepared for those who love him’”…1 Corinthians 2.9

 

We are His portion and He is our prize,
Drawn to redemption by the grace in His eyes,
If grace is an ocean, we’re all sinking.

 

He is jealous for me.

 

And you. 

Leave a Reply

