Hear ye, hear ye

"In Defense of Food"

A dear friend of mine asked me recently if I’ve read the book “In Defense of Food”. Alas, I have not. I have seen much about it floating around the internet and it has sparked my interest every time. And as her comment popped up on Facebook with the question I was sitting down to eat socca pizza I put together for myself for lunch – recipe below and yes, kind of ironic.

Another dear friend of mine and I have talked several times about the bandwagon of organic, whole, natural, green, raw, recycled, etc. and this not only regarding food, but every facet of life. We have walked by circles of people who make this their lifelong devotion to be entirely organic from what they put into their mouths to the sheets they tuck their children into. This is merely one little example…

I am all about eating whole, real foods and choosing good, natural and healthy things for my family whether it is food or cleaning products. But I know I must keep these boundaries realistic. How quickly I can make these things become my end-all, an idol, my soapbox I stand on and the most important thing I talk about and live for. I think many people do a great job at balance…I know I can use some work.

I will stick with this principle nonetheless: 1 Corinthians 10.31 “So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.”

And I still want to read the book :]

But how do you draw the line? And where?

Socca Pizza Crust ~serves 2

(adapted from the edible perspective)

Ingredients:

1 1/4 c chickpea flour

1 c water

1 T olive oil

1 T unsweetened apple sauce

1/2 t garlic powder

1 1/2 t dried oregano

1 t dried parsley

1/2 t dried basil

1 t dried rosemary

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 375*

-Line the bottom of an 8-9” round pan with parchment and grease the bottom and sides.  If you don’t have parchment just use nonstick cooking spray and grease the entire pan. Really well.

-Mix all the ingredients together.

-Pour into pan and bake for 40 min., or until the top is cracked and edges are brown.

-Allow to cool and use knife to loosen edges.

-Flip out the socca and add your toppings.

-Once crust is topped with pizza ingredients return to oven (I put my socca pizza on a foil-lined cookie sheet) for an additional 5 to 8 min., until toppings are hot and cheese is melted.

mmm. And my husband loved it too. That says a lot.

2 responses to “Hear ye, hear ye

  1. Ashley May 1, 2011 at 11.50 am

    One of my favorite books!! Glad you liked the socca. :)

    • Andrea M May 1, 2011 at 12.01 pm

      I really will have to get that book and read it -Oh and I love the socca! I make it often…also, i am actually eating a breakfast bake as we speak :) love your recipes – so thank you!

Leave a Reply

