Ten more to go

10 days.

There are only 10 more days until we leave on our vacation to the lovely and most wonderful island of Hilton Head, South Carolina. We have been there so many times; it is our default vacation getaway and we literally know it like the back of our hand. Or should I say ‘foot’, haha!

nerd.

This vacation will mark twenty-something times we have dug our feet into the island’s sand, pushed bike pedals to local coffee shops and took in the hot, humid air into our lungs that smells like dried pine needles, salty water, spanish moss and beach-side coconut oil. This will also mark the second time my husband has joined us on our family vacation :) and the fourth time he and I have traveled to the beach together. I love that our tallies of life events are constantly growing, oh it is so exciting! And I digress.

We speak of our holiday in the sun constantly. No, it is not everything we live for, but my gosh it is a joyous time away! And we eat. it. up. We have been counting down for months. MONTHS. And we are almost into single digits! WOO! We are all getting ready and all preparing even though we do nothing at all. We float from the beach to the pool multiple times a day soaking up the rays as much as possible, take leisurely bike rides and I go for runs under the trees. We may eat out at one of our favorite restaurants and we may just grill out, hang out, sip something cool and refreshing and play cards. Most importantly we go geocaching, aka pirating, so watch your backs. Okay, maybe that’s not most important, but it is so fun.

While preparing my parents and older sister decided to go on a diet. After much discussion David and I opted not to. So we are not loosing tons of pounds like everyone else. It’s fine. But seriously they are looking great and I’m so proud of them for their discipline and diligence. In the meantime, David and I just try to be good stewards of our bodies, choosing to honor the Lord in what we do and how we eat. We know they are doing the same, our method just looks different during their many phases of the diet.

I love sweets. I really love cookies. Did I mention my mother owns and runs her own bakery? That is a story on all its own, but it does not go well with bathing-suit-ready bodies. So, I found a pretty good and healthy cookie bar recipe which I do not regret having one even in prep for vacation :) Yum.

Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

(adapted from Lil Runner)

 -1 can great northern beans, drained & rinsed

-1/2 c oats (I used old-fashioned)

-1 T coconut oil

-1 T peanut butter (I used pb2)

-1 tsp baking powder

-1/3 c brown sugar

-2 T maple syrup (I used sugar-free)

-2 oz chocolate chips/chunks (I used 2 squares of baker’s unsweetened, chopped into chunks)

-2 packets of truvia

Preheat oven 350*. Add all ingredients Except chocolate into a food processor and process until smooth and well combined. Stir in chocolate.

I used a 8×8 pyrex dish, added parchment and spritzed with non-stick cooking oil.

Bake 25-30 min.

Serves 12 @ 102 calories per bar. Or serves 16 @ 76 calories per bar. 57.2% carbs, 11.5% protein & 31.3% fat

I assure you, you cannot tell there are beans and no butter in this recipe. These are just brilliant.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Now take that to the beach :)

4 responses to “Ten more to go

  1. Bailey with Palmetto Dunes June 14, 2011 at 3.17 pm

    We can’t wait for you to be back in Hilton Head and to see your feet in the sand. The dessert looks delish by the way!

    -Bailey with Palmetto Dunes Oceanfront Resort

  2. Leanne @ Healthful Pursuit July 18, 2011 at 7.30 am

    Yum, these look great, Andrea! I love adding beans to my recipes!

    • Andrea M July 18, 2011 at 10.10 am

      Thanks Leanne! I’m so glad you think so…versatility with beans is such a new thing for me, but I really am loving it too!

Leave a Reply

