No More. No Less.

David and I just celebrated our 2 year wedding anniversary and it was so fun! I took him to Boi Na Braza downtown where he was served all you can eat meat on swords. They had 15 cuts that night, all served on a sword, obviously. He loved it. They had a beautiful salad bar, which I loved :) It felt like we were on a cruise and we both loved that! We sat there for two hours enjoying each other’s company, the food and the awesome view of Fountain Square’s lit Christmas tree and decorations.

It was just lovely!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The following day, our actual anniversary, we celebrated St.Nick at my parents (yes a day early) with dinner, stuffed stockings and the whole fam. Also very nice night. While we were there we received a check from David’s Dad and Auntie Lu for an incredibly generous amount of money. They said it was for the celebration of events in December i.e. our anniversary, Dave’s birthday and Christmas. 100% unexpected and we’re so very grateful. Right away, David looked at me and said, “This will help!”

What a blessing.

The following day I was opening a piece of mail from friends of ours we know through church. Her and I have been in a monthly women’s Bible study for a year and Dave and I have gone to dinner with her and her husband once before. They are the type of people who blesses you to not only know them but to be around. They both love the Lord so much it overflows out of them. Such a neat couple and sweet friends. Inside the envelope was an encouraging note stating they wanted to help contribute towards our adoption and a check…another check? For an incredibly generous amount of money…wha tha…

I immediately started crying and hopping repeatedly saying “Thank you, God! Thank you, God! Oh Jesus, thank you!”

I was crying out of praise, out of thanksgiving and out of humility. So many things flooded my mind. Our dear friends wanted to contribute to our adoption, “Of course they did!” I thought, because God fiercely and passionately loves and protects His orphans and widows. It is our aim and motive to honor and glorify Him in this adoption first and foremost. What confirmation this brings that we are in faith taking the next step in a way that is pleasing to Him.

Two checks in less than 24 hours. This total amount pays for our first adoption fee that is due with the multitude of paperwork in order to begin down the Ethiopian Program with AWAA. Not a penny more. Not a penny less. The perfect amount.

“Why would He bless my lack of faith?” I thought, being guilty of worrying how we would pay for these fees upfront. This kept coming to mind:

“This is what the LORD says:

Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom
or the strong man boast of his strength
or the rich man boast of his riches,
but let him who boasts boast about this:
that he understands and knows me,
that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness,
justice and righteousness on earth,
for in these I delight,’
declares the LORD.”~Jeremiah 9.23-24

If I am going to boast I am to boast in the Lord, there is nothing else to boast about and certainly nothing I have done to deserve magnification. So for a moment, and I pray to be kept in this moment, I am left without doubt that He is able to do all things. I know this is Truth, I just need to live like I believe it. So here I sit with the only thing left to say:

1 Praise the LORD, O my soul;

all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
2 Praise the LORD, O my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
3 who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
4 who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
5 who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

6 The LORD works righteousness
and justice for all the oppressed.

7 He made known his ways to Moses,
his deeds to the people of Israel:
8 The LORD is compassionate and gracious,
slow to anger, abounding in love.
9 He will not always accuse,
nor will he harbor his anger forever;
10 he does not treat us as our sins deserve
or repay us according to our iniquities.
11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west,
so far has he removed our transgressions from us.
13 As a father has compassion on his children,
so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him;
14 for he knows how we are formed,
he remembers that we are dust.
15 As for man, his days are like grass,
he flourishes like a flower of the field;
16 the wind blows over it and it is gone,
and its place remembers it no more.
17 But from everlasting to everlasting
the LORD’s love is with those who fear him,
and his righteousness with their children’s children—
18 with those who keep his covenant
and remember to obey his precepts.

19 The LORD has established his throne in heaven,
and his kingdom rules over all.

20 Praise the LORD, you his angels,
you mighty ones who do his bidding,
who obey his word.
21 Praise the LORD, all his heavenly hosts,
you his servants who do his will.
22 Praise the LORD, all his works
everywhere in his dominion.

Praise the LORD, O my soul.”

~Psalm 103

:)

Leave a Reply

